New Mexico Acupuncture Board2550 Cerrillos Road Santa Fe, NM 87505 Phone: 505. 476.4630
In New Mexico, acupuncture may only be practiced by someone who has passed the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) exam and received a state license as a doctor of oriental medicine (DOM). The agency in charge of acupuncture licensing in New Mexico is the Board of Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine. Once granted, licenses are valid for a period of one year and can be renewed annually.
To receive a license as a DOM in New Mexico, applicants must pass both the written and practical examinations offered by the NCCAOM with scores of 75 percent or higher. In addition, applicants must pass an open-book examination covering state regulations with a score of 90 percent or higher. The initial application and supporting documentation must be received by the board at least 60 days before the scheduled clinical skills exam. Applicants who fail the clinical skills exam may retake it if the intent to do so is provided to the board in writing at least 60 days prior to the next exam date.
Application and Documentation
The application for licensure as a DOM is available at the New Mexico Regulation & Licensing Department’s. The application must be completed in its entirety and submitted to the board in person or by mail. The following documentation may be submitted with the application or no later than 12 months after the application is received by the board:
- Application fee
- Two passport-style photographs
- Affidavit confirming the applicant is not facing disciplinary action or litigation regarding any profession requiring licensing or certification
- Affidavit stating the applicant is not a convicted felon
- Official professional licensing history
- Copy of a certificate or diploma verifying educational requirements have been met
Continuing Education and License Renewal
All acupuncture licenses in New Mexico expire on July 31 each year. DOMs in good standing are eligible to renew their licenses by submitting a license renewal application and a renewal fee. The only other documentation required is adequate proof that at least 15 hours of continuing education credits were earned during the licensing year. Renewal applications may be submitted electronically through the state board’s website.
New Mexico law allows for a 60-day grace period before licenses expire. Applications submitted during this grace period are subject to a late fee. Licenses that have not been renewed before the end of the grace period are considered expired but can still be renewed up to one year from the expiration date by submitting an application and paying the expired license renewal fee.
All fees except those payable to the NCAAOM for classes and testing must be submitted before licenses can be issued. As of December 2012, the fees are as follows:
- License fee – $525
- Clinical skills exam fee – $500
- License renewal fee – $225
- Late renewal fee – $200
- Expired renewal fee – $300