New Jersey Acupuncture BoardP.O. Box 46021
Newark, NJ 07101
New Jersey was one of the first states to regulate acupuncture and acupuncturists. The Acupuncture Act, NJ RSA 45:2C, was passed in 1983, and it called for the establishment of the Acupuncture Examining Board to oversee training programs and acupuncture licensing in New Jersey. However, instead of a license, an acupuncturist meeting all of the qualifications is issued a certification. The New Jersey Acupuncture Examining Board falls under the jurisdiction of the Division of Consumer Affairs, which is part of the Department of Law & Public Safety.
Acupuncture Licensing in New Jersey
Even though New Jersey RSA 45:2C provides general certification guidelines, the Acupuncture Examining Board has detailed the process and requirements in New Jersey Administrative Code Title 13, Chapter 35, Subchapter 9. According to this code, applicants for certification must hold the proper credentials and meet strict education requirements.
Applicants must be able to prove that they possess the following credentials before they can be certified to practice acupuncture in the state:
- Each applicant must complete an application form.
- Applicants must be a minimum of 21 years of age.
- Applicants must successfully complete the courses offered by the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM) covering the foundations of oriental medicine, acupuncture, point location and biomedicine.
- If the NCCAOM courses are not completed in English, then applicants must prove proficiency in the English language by passing the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL).
To become a certified acupuncturist in New Jersey, an individual must also meet one of five education requirements:
- Hold a bachelor’s degree from an accredited school in the United States and complete an approved acupuncture program
- Hold the equivalent of a bachelor’s degree from another country and complete an acupuncture program in the United States
- Complete an acupuncture program in another country that is part of a bachelor’s degree, or equivalent, program
- Be a licensed physician or dentist in good standing in New Jersey
- Complete an approved acupuncture tutorial program
The final requirement for applicants is to successfully complete the state exam in acupuncture safety and jurisprudence that is administered by the board. However, all other requirements must be met before the exam can be taken.
In addition to the completed application, certification applicants must submit the following documentation:
- One passport-style photograph signed and dated on the back
- Copy of a birth certificate or passport
- Proof of citizenship or immigration status
- Education transcripts
- NCCAOM transcripts
- Verification of state licenses
- Certification fee and application fee of $100
Acupuncture certification is valid for two years and expires on June 30 of odd-numbered years. During the first year, the full certification fee of $270 must be paid. After the first year, the certification fee is prorated to $135.