Kansas Acupuncture Board800 SW Jackson, Lower Level – Suite A
Topeka, KS 66612
Kansas does not issue specialty licenses for acupuncturists. However, the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts recognizes that acupuncture is one of the healing arts that is included in the board’s legal jurisdiction. Although there is no acupuncture licensing in Kansas, other licensed practitioners of healing arts may practice acupuncture or supervise the practice of acupuncture in certain situations.
Practicing Acupuncture in Kansas
Acupuncture is not specifically controlled in Kansas, but the Board of Healing Arts has issued several official statements regarding the practice. According to the board, licensed medical doctors, osteopaths and chiropractors may practice acupuncture or supervise the practice of acupuncture without further licensing or certification. The licensed professional and any supervised delegates must be competent in the practice, but the law does not specify what constitutes competency. The responsibility of competency is left to the licensed professional, and the board makes no judgments in such cases unless repeated instances of negligence or unsafe practices are brought before it.
It is important to note that the board has determined that only a licensed practitioner of the healing arts may open and maintain an office for the purpose of practicing acupuncture. In addition, acupuncture may only be performed in a client’s home by a licensed practitioner.
Naturopathic Doctors and Acupuncture
The Kansas State Board of Healing Arts issues licenses to qualified naturopathic doctors (N.D.), and any N.D. who has received training in acupuncture may apply for certification to legally practice the art. Requirements for receiving an N.D. license are as follows:
- The applicant must be a graduate of an approved four-year naturopathy program from a post-secondary institution.
- The applicant must pass a state exam in naturopathy.
- The applicant must submit a fee of $165.
To receive certification in acupuncture, an N.D. must meet the following additional requirements:
- The applicant must successfully pass a course in the philosophy of Oriental medicine that includes at least 500 hours of clinical training.
- The applicant must pay a certification fee of $20.
Legislation that has been dubbed the Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine Practice Act was introduced to the Kansas State Legislature in 2011 but failed to pass. The Kansas Association of Oriental Medicine has vowed to reintroduce the bill, but it is unclear when this will occur or if it will ever become law.