Alaska Acupuncture BoardP.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
The Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, operating under the Department of Commerce and Economic Development, oversees acupuncture licensing in Alaska. The laws concerning how and when acupuncture licenses are issued are recorded in Alaska Statutes 08.06, and additional regulations can be found in 12-AAC-05.
To become a licensed acupuncturist (L.Ac.) in Alaska, individuals must meet several qualifying criteria:
- The individual must be of good moral character.
- The person must be at least 21 years of age.
- The applicant must have successfully completed an acupuncture curriculum that meets the guidelines set forth by the Accreditation Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (ACAOM) and that has been approved by the Department of Commerce and Economic Development.
- The applicant is qualified to receive certification as a diplomate in acupuncture by the National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine (NCCAOM).
- The individual has paid the appropriate licensing fees.
The only exceptions to the above qualifying criteria are for licensed medical doctors, osteopaths and dentists. These individuals are assumed to have met satisfying criteria through their respective licensing procedures. In addition, licensed medical practitioners are not required to receive specific training in acupuncture.
Acupuncture License Application
Acupuncture licensing in Alaska is dependent upon the submission of a license application and several forms of supplemental documentation. The application and documentation must be originals or certified true copies. The application must be filled out completely, including an education history, license history and practice history. Other documentation, evidence and materials that are to be submitted with the application are as follows:
- A recent head and shoulders photograph
- An explanation on a separate sheet of paper for each answer marked yes in the section of questions concerning professional conduct
- Official transcripts from an accredited school of acupuncture
- NCCAOM Diplomate Certificate or other verification of diplomate status
- Two forms signed and notarized by acquaintances attesting to the moral character of the applicant
- Authorization for the release of records form
- Application fee of $50 and acupuncture license fee of $50
An applicant who holds a valid acupuncture license in another state, territory or country does not have to send transcripts from an accredited school of acupuncture.